Whole Food Transformation

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Summer coming to an end! September 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mom4health @ 2:00 am

Well, today is the first day of September! Where did the summer go! So many events this summer, that made time fly by that much faster! A new grandson being born, a trip to Montana and Yellowstone with the family, and just enjoying the area where we live. There is so much to do in the Colorado mountains that we can’t fit a lot of it in. But we are blessed to be able to do what we can do here!

Garry and me enjoying an airshow in Denver! Fun day!

And I am still Whole Foods cookin’! But I haven’t made as many recipes these last few weeks as we have been busy! School starts next week and I will settle down and take on a lot more new recipes from the Whole Foods Cookbook.

I have prepared four new recipes that I want to share with you! And then I just have to show you the surprise burgers that my son-in-law prepared for Jonathan and Caleb!

The first recipe is Roasted Butternut Squash with Penne Pasta. This was a recipe I want to fix often. I love squash and this is very tasty! It was easy to make, the ingredients consisting of squash, onion, garlic, red chili flakes (which added a little heat which I like), parsley and Parmesan cheese. The boys really liked it as well,  giving it a 9!

Roasted Butternut Squash with Penne Pasta

The next recipe was one I enjoyed as well.  BUT the boys weren’t very happy with it. It was Mushroom Tofu Stroganoff. I love mushrooms (what don’t I love?) and this recipe had a pound of button mushrooms along with 2 large portobello mushrooms. Caleb informed me again, that he doesn’t like tofu very much and Jonathan informed me again that he doesn’t care for mushrooms. SO… I gave it a 10 and Garry liked it but I could tell he wasn’t just crazy about it and the boys only gave it about a 5. I suspect it might be just because of the appearance?? If you like stroganoff and like mushrooms and tofu you would love this dish. Very flavorful!

Looks yummy to me

My next recipe was Curry Coconut Peanut Sauce. The cookbook assures you that after one spoonful you are hooked! And they were right! The boys gave this sauce an enthusiastic 10! Yeah! This was a very flavorful sauce with a touch of heat from the serrano pepper that was minced and added. The base was coconut milk which made it a very creamy sauce. Some of the other ingredients were red onion, garlic, curry, cumin, peanut butter, cilantro, tamari, honey, lime juice and ketchup! How can you go wrong with ingredients like these? I made the sauce and then covered chicken breast with it and baked the chicken. Yum! Ready to have this again!

Curry Coconut Peanut Sauce

My last recipe was Risotto Cakes. This was another surprise for the boys. Watching me prepare these patties, Jonathan exclaimed that he probably wasn’t going to like these. But! One bite was all it took! A 9 from both boys! What a great recipe to prepare for the family. It had so many wonderful healthy ingredients. Makes a mom’s heart happy! Let me see: onion, carrot, garlic, thyme, arborio rice (a short grain variety grown in Italy), zucchini, peas, corn, various cheeses. Wonderful ingredients, wonderful flavor! I topped the patties with a slice of provolone and this made a great meal!

A meal the boys loved!

What will be my next recipe. Let’s see…I think for our Labor Day BBQ I will prepare the Nutcracker Sweet Cheesecake! As this cheesecake is more than 900 calories per serving, I think it should be a hit. I also need to share those calories with company! YIKES!

Hope your summer was a great one! And here was the Eric’s surprise! The boys say 10 to these! 🙂

Cheeseburgers with a glazed donut bun! Probably won't find this in the Whole Foods Cookbook! But they were good!

Until the next recipe…

So long from Colorado!

 

Leave a Reply

