Whole Food Transformation

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I am back and ready to cook! October 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mom4health @ 1:18 am

Well, after a long break I am ready to rev up my food processor! And ready to start cookin’ again! I am about half way through “The Whole Foods Market Cookbook”. If you read my first blogs you will find that I was inspired by the movie “Julia” based on Julia Childs. I decided after seeing that movie that I wanted to prepare a whole cookbook, but I wanted to used the Whole Foods cookbook as that is where I buy most of my groceries. And  I wanted to see if by using this cookbook, which is chock full of wonderful healthy recipes, I could get the boys use to eating a much wider variety of food. They are your typical boys, craving pizza, mac and cheese, cheeseburgers, fries, etc. You wouldn’t believe how it helped change their tastes. It’s been a fun journey and I am ready to try to finish the cookbook. And it is fun to blog about it, share pictures and recipes (by request). This cookbook has 350 recipes! Most of them contain a lot of fresh vegetables and good grains.

My first recipe is Wild Rice with Pecans and Dried Cranberries. I can’t say it was a hit, unfortunately. The boys are not real fond of ‘sour’ dishes and this one is definitely in that category. Some of the ingredients are wild rice, pecan halves, yellow pepper, cranberries, parsley and scallions mixed in a balsamic and raspberry vinegar mix. I only prepared half as I was suspicious that it wouldn’t go over real well. I was right. Caleb rated it a 4 and Jonathan 6 on a scale of 1 to 10 with 1 being nasty and 10 being great! And Garry didn’t really care for it, though he TRIED to look like he was enjoying it. After being married over 34 years, I can tell! 🙂 And I prepared this while watching the grandkids and burnt the first round of toasted pecans! Thankfully, I had m0re to toast, while I stayed in until they were done! I don’t dare leave the kitchen while I am cooking! Out of state, out of mind! Anyway, I loved this salad and enjoyed it and gave the rest to my daughter, Abby, as I knew she would enjoy it as well.


My second recipe was Gazpacho. This was a surprise to my guys. They looked at this a couldn’t believe it was soup! I think this is the second chilled soup I have ever made. And it was SO good. So fresh and the combination of the herbs and vegetables was wonderful. This recipe consisted of onion, tomatoes, cucumbers, red pepper, cilantro (which I love in anything!), balsamic vinegar and lemon. With the cilantro, it tasted somewhat like fresh salsa, so I served it to the boys with tortilla chips and they ate it right up, both of them giving this recipe a 9!

My last recipe was Fried Green Tomatoes which I will post the recipe (this is for you Susan!). I am preparing this again for company some time. This would most definitely be a crowd pleaser! I don’t fry many things, and this requires you to fry in canola oil. But it was definitely a treat! And all of us ate them right up and gave this recipe a 10!

Fried Green Tomatoes

2 green tomatoes (or firm red) sliced 1/4 inch thick

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 plus 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup cornmeal

Freshly ground pepper to taste

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup canola oil

Season the tomato slices with the salt. Combine the 1/4 cup flour, cornmeal, salt and pepper. Set up a breading station: In 3 separate bowls, place the remaining 1/2 cup flour, buttermilk, and cornmeal mixture. Coat each tomato slice in the flour, tap off the excess, submerge in the buttermilk, and then coat well in the cornmeal. Bread all of the tomato slices; refrigerate for at least 1 hour. When the tomatoes are ready, heat the canola oil in a skillet over medium-high heat, until a single drop of water makes the oil sizzle. Cook the tomato slices until they are golden brown on each side, turning them once. Remove the tomatoes to a plate lined with paper towels for a few moments. Serve them immediately.

Well, it feels good to be back. I love cooking and I really enjoy the challenge of a new recipe. It’s a lot more work to prepare fresh food with so many veggies, but it is SO worth it!

Hope you are enjoying the fall weather. The aspens are amazing right now where we live!

So long from Colorado! Looking forward to the next recipes!

 

Leave a Reply

