Whole Food Transformation

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Some Pretty Tasty Recipes! November 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mom4health @ 2:45 am

I just keep movin’ along in the Whole Foods Cookbook. Enjoying every minute of the cooking adventure these recipes lead me in to. And looking back at my first posts, I can see such a change in what my family is eating now and that is exciting! Last night I was preparing Eggplant Soup, which I will post about next time, and Jonathan walked by and remarked that it looked like it was going to be pretty good! He was looking at a pan full of eggplant and green peppers! We’ll find out if he actually thought it was good when he went to eat it later! 🙂

The first recipe for this round is called Hand to Mouth Drumsticks. They are in the children’s section of the cookbook. This was an interesting recipe as the chicken drumsticks are coated with yogurt, peanut butter and apricot juice! Then they are dipped in a crunchy crust of corn flakes, parsley and some seasonings. The boys really liked these. There really wasn’t anything to dislike.  The coating was SO crisp and tasty!

Crunchy Goodness!

The next recipe was, of course, another 10+. But, how can you go wrong with Labor of Love Cheesecake? I made this cheesecake for Jonathan’s 13th birthday and the boys both loved it. I used gluten free graham crackers so Garry could enjoy some as well. Needless to say, it wasn’t around long.

Labor of Love Cheesecake

The last recipe for this time took a LONG time to prepare. This recipe reminded me why I don’t make homemade noodles, though they are one of my favorite foods. My grandmother always made homemade noodles and they were the best! The recipe that was so much work was Samosas. This is a Himalayan recipe that has a thin dough (had to roll and roll and roll!) that is full of mashed potatoes with all kinds of ingredients like garlic, ginger, jalapeno, garam masala (love to smell this spice, wonderful!), curry, cumin, tumeric and cilantro. The dough bakes to a nice, golden crust. The boys really liked these. They dipped them into either salsa or marinara sauce. They gave these a 9 out of 10.

The finished product after hours of work!

So, I would say that this round has been very successful. I am always excited about the next few recipes and anxious to see how the end result will be. Hmmm, let me see, the next time you will hear about Eggplant Soup (did Jonathan like it as much as he said he would?), Mushroom Strudel (which my son-in-law called ‘crazy’ good), and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers!

Until next time…

Boulder says, "Eat healthy and so long from Colorado!"

 

 

Leave a Reply

